ART /

Still living

/

Antoine Schmitt

2006

Still Living is a series of three visual installations – out of ten in total. They show graphs with immediately recognizable visual forms (curves, pies and bars). These graphs are in perpetual movement, autonomous and infinite, without sound or inactivity.

 


Each piece describes a particular situation:

Still Living, H

Two miniscule points, red and blue, oscillate proportionately inside the central figure, which is a circle. They seem to try to maintain an unstable and fragile balance at the center of an indifferent greater whole.

Still Living, I

Two curves, red and white, move inside the graph, occupy every point, the whole space. They are opposite one another and sometimes intersect and then sometimes separate again like a choreographed dance.

Still Living, J

A green curve advances and varies very quickly. Its frantic movements simultaneously evoke the world of finance and a perpetual escape forward.

The data displayed are dissociated from any information. In these works the spectator is confronted with the way the graphs evolve. Each graph seems animated by internal forces describing movements inspired by organic movements. These are still lifes, but still living.

With Still Living, it’s the quantification of living that is examined. The visualization of data in the form of graphs is so omnipresent in our society that they become invisible because of it. They capture, however, an interpretation of the real, of peoples lives in a numbered manner. These engaged installations breathe life into these graphs by restituting a little bit of the humanity that they represent.


Antoine Schmitt (1961-) is a French plastic artist. His works, in the form of objects, installations or situations, explore the aesthetics of movement and action. He places the program, a contemporary artistic material, at the heart of his creations to reveal and literally manipulate the force of the work. He tirelessly questions the dynamic interactions between human nature and the nature of reality.


Learn more

Artist’s website
www.antoineschmitt.com

Still Living preview
http://www.antoineschmitt.com/still-living-fr/

Podcast – Interview with Antoine Schmitt about the collectiv exhibition “Demandez le programme” at Espace multimédia Gantner from 27 february to 24 april 2010.


Document(s) to download

Pedagogical sheet of the work
Still Living Antoine Schmitt
Still Living Antoine Schmitt
Still Living Antoine Schmitt
Still Living Antoine Schmitt
Still Living Antoine Schmitt

ART /

Still living

/

Antoine Schmitt

2006

Still Living est une série de trois installations visuelles représentant des graphiques aux formes visuelles immédiatement reconnaissables (courbes, camemberts, bâtons). Ces graphiques sont en mouvement perpétuel, de façon autonome et infinie, sans son, ni interactivité.


Chaque pièce décrit une situation particulière :

Still Living, H

Deux minuscules valeurs rouges et bleues oscillent de façon proportionnelle à l’intérieur de la figure centrale, qui est un camembert. Elles semblent essayer de maintenir un équilibre instable et fragile au centre d’un grand tout indifférent.

Still Living, I

Deux courbes rouges et bleues se meuvent à l’intérieur du graphique, en occupent toutes les valeurs, tout l’espace. Elles sont opposées l’une à l’autre et parfois se rencontrent puis s’éloignent de nouveau à la manière d’une danse chorégraphiée.

Still Living, J

Une courbe verte avance et varie de façon très rapide. Ses mouvement frénétiques évoquent l’univers de la finance et simultanément une perpétuelle fuite en avant.

Les données affichées sont dissociées de toute information. Dans ces œuvres le spectateur est confronté à la manière dont les graphiques évoluent. Chaque graphique semble animé par des forces internes décrivant des mouvements inspirés de mouvements organiques. Ce sont des natures mortes (still life) mais vivantes (still living).

Avec Still Living, c’est la quantification du vivant qui est interrogée. La visualisation de données sous forme de graphiques est tellement omniprésente dans nos sociétés qu’ils en deviennent invisibles. Ils fixent pourtant une interprétation du réel, de la vie des gens de manière chiffrée. Ces installations engagées insufflent du vivant à ces graphiques en restituant un peu de l’humanité qu’ils représentent.


Antoine Schmitt (1961-) est un artiste plasticien français. Ses œuvres, sous la forme d’objets, d’installations ou de situations explorent l’esthétique du mouvement et de l’action. Il place le programme, matériau artistique contemporain, au cœur de ses créations pour révéler et littéralement manipuler les forces à l’œuvre. Il interroge inlassablement les interactions dynamiques entre nature humaine et nature de la réalité.


En savoir plus

Sur l’artiste :
www.antoineschmitt.com

Aperçu de l’œuvre en ligne :
http://www.antoineschmitt.com/still-living-fr/

Podcast – Entretien avec Antoine Schmitt autour de l’exposition collective « Demandez le programme » à l’Espace multimédia Gantner du 27 février au 24 avril 2010.


Document(s) à télécharger

Fiche pédagogique de l'œuvre

 

 

Still Living Antoine Schmitt
I
J
stillliving- 3
stillliving- 4