ART /

PVQ

/

Peter Luining

2007

PVQ is a interactive work available online, presented on a computer. It is a series of about fifteen hacked video games, with minimalist graphics and soundtracks.


The environments are in 2D, without any effect of depth, the forms are geometric and simple – square, circle, rectangle, or line – and the colors plain and ultra-saturated. An aesthetic that is strongly reminiscent of the first video games.

Only the instructions for the controls appear on the screen – use of the space bar, the keyboard or the mouse. Once the game has started, the work catches the user off-guard from the very first seconds by perturbing the interactions normally expected in this kind of game: the environment of Brick Breaker that turns on itself, controls that get inverted, the passing of forms that speed up, etc.

Here, no kind of progress is possible, whether in the scores, which increase randomly, or in the levels, which do not exist. Every time the user loses or wins, the interface changes.

PVQ questions this notion of interaction. While it is being tested, moving sounds and images defy the concept of interaction, creating frantic combinations in which it is very difficult to react. A frustration is born in the spectator because of this, reinforced by the absence of compensation if a level is won. The logic of winning/losing inherent to the very principle of the game no longer exists.


Peter Luining (1961) is a Dutch artist, exhibit curator and theorist. Initially known for his “VJing” performances, he reoriented his work with the appearance of the Internet in the middle of the 1990s. He would become more conceptual and minimalist. His work, as artistic as it was theoretical, was articulated around the audiovisual and interactive dynamics of the Net and software programs. According to Peter Luining, for there to be an interaction, there must be a manipulation and a physical change. The spectator has the power to really change an aspect of the work.


Learn more

Artist’s website
www.luining.com

PVQ online
www.pvq.nl


Document(s) to download

Pedagogical sheet of the work
pvq pvq.nl Peter Luining
pvq pvq.nl Peter Luining
pvq pvq.nl Peter Luining
pvq pvq.nl Peter Luining
pvq pvq.nl Peter Luining

ART /

PVQ

/

Peter Luining

2007

PVQ est une œuvre interactive disponible en ligne. C’est une se?rie d’une quinzaine de jeux vide?o hacke?s, aux graphismes et a? la bande sonore minimalistes.


Les environnements sont en 2D, sans aucun effet de profondeur, les formes sont ge?ome?triques et simples – carre?, rond, rectangle ou ligne – et les couleurs unies et ultra-sature?es. Une esthe?tique rappelant fortement celle des premiers jeux vide?o.

Seules les instructions de commandes apparaissent a? l’e?cran – utilisation de la barre espace, du clavier ou de la souris. Une fois en situation de jeu, l’œuvre prend l’utilisateur a? contre-pied de?s les premie?res secondes, en perturbant les interactions normalement attendues dans ce type de jeu : l’environnement d’un casse-briques qui tourne sur lui-me?me, des commandes qui s’inversent, des de?filement de formes qui s’acce?le?rent…

Ici, aucune progression n’est possible, ni dans les scores qui s’incre?mentent de fac?on ale?atoire, ni dans les niveaux, qui n’existent pas. A? chaque fois que l’utilisateur perd ou gagne, il change d’interface.

PVQ questionne cette notion d’interactivite?. Durant l’expe?rimentation les sons et les images en mouvement de?fient le concept d’interactivite?, cre?ant des combinaisons fre?ne?tiques dans lesquelles il est tre?s difficile de re?agir. De cet aspect nai?t une frustration chez le spectateur, renforce?e par l’absence de re?compense s’il remporte une partie. La logique gagnant / perdant inhe?rente au principe me?me du jeu n’existe plus.


Peter Luining (1961) est un artiste, commissaire d’exposition et the?oricien ne?erlandais. Au de?part connu pour ses performances de « VJing », re?oriente son travail avec l’apparition d’Internet dans le milieu des anne?es 1990 ; il deviendra plus conceptuel et minimaliste. Son travail, artistique comme the?orique, s’articulera surtout autour de la dynamique audiovisuelle et interactive du Net et des logiciels. Selon Peter Luining, pour qu’il y ait interaction il doit y avoir manipulation et changement physique. Le spectateur a le pouvoir de re?ellement changer un aspect de l’œuvre.


En savoir plus

Site web de l’artiste
www.luining.com

L’oeuvre en ligne
www.pvq.nl


Document(s) à télécharger

Fiche pédagogique de l'œuvre

 

 

 

pvq pvq.nl Peter Luining
pvq1
pvq4
pvq6
pvq11