ART /

InTime

/

Pierre Alféri

2003

InTime is a video-poetic work, a cinematic poem. The image, a quad split screen, is divided in four vertical bands, slightly askew from one another. A series of silent sequences produced by the artist during a train trip play on it. The moments captured in the film are superposed and repeat in a temporality that seems suspended, slowed down, and stretched out.


Sentences are tacked onto these images like sober annotations, similar to standard sub- or sur-titles. The texts come from the work Intimate by Pierre Alféri. This work is a collection of letters written to anonymous people who all have the common trait of being designated by their attribute (“Dear relative,” “Dear beloved,” “Dear mercurial one,” etc.). The letters are addressed to characters; they can thus address another in the intimate space of correspondence or themselves in an introspection put into words.

Texts and images are synchronized with sound compositions, made with the musician and singer Rodolphe Burger. Music participates in the poetry of the piece, like a rhythmic counterpoint to underscore or complicate the rhythm of the sentences. Images, text and music intertwine without harmonizing excessively, such that the whole dreamlike dimension of the work emerges for short, accidental moments.

The main subject of the work is time; it is about being immersed in time, living it without dominating it. The sequences captured by the camera, like sketches made on a bench or notes scribbled in a notebook, direct the gaze to moments of life, moments of candid intimacy from the lives of unknown passersby. These moments are stretched out, slowed down, or accelerated.

“I have nothing that is more intimate than you.”


Pierre Alféri (1963-) is a French writer, essayist, and poet. His work plays with the canons of language and writing. He stretches and fuses categories to invent new poetic forms in constant renewal.


Learn more

Artist’s website
alferi.fr

website about the artist’s writings
www.vacarme.org/auteur61.html


Document(s) to download

Pedagogical sheet of the work
inTime Pierre Alféri
inTime Pierre Alféri
inTime Pierre Alféri
inTime Pierre Alféri
inTime Pierre Alféri

ART /

InTime

/

Pierre Alféri

2003

InTime est une œuvre vidéo-poétique, un ciné-poème. L’image, en montage feuilleté, est divisée en quatre bandes verticales, légèrement décalées entre elles. Y défilent une série de plans muets réalisés par l’artiste lors d’un voyage en train. Les instants capturés sur le film se superposent et se répètent dans une temporalité qui semble suspendue, ralentie, étirée.


À ces images viennent s’apposer des phrases, comme de sobres annotations à la manière de sous ou sur-titres standards. Les textes sont extraits de l’ouvrage Intime écrit par Pierre Alféri. Cet ouvrage est un recueil de lettres rédigées à des anonymes qui ont la particularité d’être désignés par leur qualité (« cher relatif », « chère attachée », « chère lunatique »…). Les lettres s’adressent à des caractères, elles peuvent donc s’adresser à un autre dans l’intimité de la correspondance ou à soi dans une introspection mise en mots.

Les textes et les images sont synchronisés à des compositions sonores, réalisées avec le musicien et chanteur Rodolphe Burger. La musique participe à la poésie de la pièce, comme contrepoint rythmique pour souligner ou compliquer le rythme des phrases. Les images, le texte et la musique se tressent sans s’harmoniser à l’excès, afin de faire émerger dans de courts instants accidentels toute la dimension onirique de l’œuvre.

Le sujet principal de l’œuvre est le temps, c’est être en immergé dans un temps (« in time »), le vivre sans le surplomber. Les séquences capturées par la caméra à la manière de croquis réalisés sur un banc ou de notes griffonnées dans un carnet posent un regard sur des moments de vie, des moments dans l’intimité surprise de passants inconnus. Ces moments sont allongés, ralentis ou accélérés.

« Je n’ai rien de plus intime que vous. »


Pierre Alféri (1963-) est un écrivain, essayiste et poète français. Son travail joue avec les canons du langage et de l’écriture, il fait s’étirer et fusionner les catégories pour inventer de nouvelles formes poétiques en constant renouvellement.


En savoir plus

Sur l’artiste :
alferi.fr

Site sur les écrits de l’artiste :
www.vacarme.org/auteur61.html


Document(s) à télécharger

Fiche pédagogique de l'œuvre
inTime Pierre Alféri
intime3
intime6
intime16
intime19