ART /

BorderXing

/

Heath Bunting

2003

BorderXing takes the form of a website, tracing, through the documents, photos and itineraries Heath Bunting has provided, his different attempts at crossing European borders on foot. These elements, like travel guides, detail the methods employed to go from one country to another without getting stopped, or even being detected.


Against a gray background, with small images and no typographical effect, the website voluntarily privileges content over form, placing the emphasis on the informative intention that is the attributed to the project. This graphic simplicity also has the advantage of being compatible with all computers. BorderXing is accessible to everyone outside of the European Union, and for the others there are restrictions. In order to get permission to access the site, one must either have a fixed IP address – which is very rare – or have physically gone to one of the public places/ homepages catalogued on the site, and, like a border check point, provide proof of it to the artist.

These restrictions applied only to European residents are an ironic and critical parallel to one of the founding principles of the Union, which is the free circulation of people and goods. In this way, Heath Bunting denounces the inequality endured by certain individuals in order to enter a territory and offers them alternatives. BorderXing shifts the space of restriction from the ground to the virtual world, and thus underscores its incongruousness.

BorderXing is a commission from the Tate Gallery in London.


An English artist, Heath Bunting (1966-) lives and works in Bristol. He was one of the pioneers of Net art in the 1990s. His work consists of websites, graphic creations, conferences and performances, and often explores the notion of liberty and frontiers, both physical and virtual. An activist-artists recognized worldwide, he sometimes sees his work getting censored by authorities. He himself is banned for life from the United States for his anti-GMO pieces and those on border crossing.


Learn more

Artist’s website
irational.org

Podcast – Interview with Heath Bunting


Document(s) to download

Pedagogical sheet of the work
BorderXing Heath Bunting
BorderXing Heath Bunting
BorderXing Heath Bunting
BorderXing Heath Bunting
BorderXing Heath Bunting

ART /

BorderXing

/

Heath Bunting

2003

L’œuvre prend la forme d’un site Internet privé, retraçant à travers des documents, des photos, et des itinéraires fournis par Heath Bunting ses différentes entreprises de traversées pédestres des frontières européennes. Ces éléments, tels des guides pratiques, détaillent les procédés mis en œuvre pour passer d’un pays à l’autre sans être arrêté, ni même détecté.


Sur fond gris, avec de petites images et sans effet typographique, le site privilégie volontairement le contenu à la forme, mettant l’accent sur l’intention informative qui est donnée au projet. Cette simplicité graphique donne aussi l’avantage de pouvoir fonctionner sur toutes les machines. BorderXing est accessible à tous à l’extérieur de l’Union européenne, pour les autres il y a des restrictions. Pour obtenir le droit d’y accéder il faut soit disposer d’une adresse IP fixe – ce qui est très rare – soit être allé physiquement dans l’un des lieux publics / portails répertoriés sur le site, et, à l’image d’un contrôle aux frontières, en fournir une preuve à l’artiste.

Ces restrictions appliquées uniquement aux résidents européens sont un parallèle ironique et critique à l’un des principes fondateurs de l’Union qui est celui de la libre circulation des personnes et des marchandises. Par ce biais, Heath Bunting dénonce les inégalités subies par certains individus pour entrer sur un territoire et leur propose des alternatives. BorderXing déplace l’espace de restriction du terrestre au virtuel, et en souligne ainsi l’incongruité.

BorderXing – prononcer « border crossing » – est une commande de la Tate Gallery de Londres.


Artiste anglais, Heath Bunting (1966-) vit et travaille à Bristol. Il fut l’un des pionniers du Net art dans les années 1990. Son travail se compose de sites Internet, d’interventions graphiques, de conférences et de performances, et explore souvent la notion de liberté et de frontière tant physique que virtuelle. Artiste-activiste subversif mondialement reconnu, il voit parfois ses travaux subir la censure des autorités. Il est lui-même interdit d’entrée à vie aux États-Unis pour ses œuvres anti-OGM ou traitant de la traversée des frontières.


En savoir plus

Site internet de l’artiste
irational.org

Podcast – Entretien avec Heath Bunting


Document(s) à télécharger

Fiche pédagogique de l'œuvre

 

 

 

 

 

BorderXing Heath Bunting
borderxing1
fencexing_mathew02
image025
kanne_1077