ART /

T.R.I.P

/

Monica Studer and Christoph Van den Berg

2009-2010

T.R.I.P presents the software program Pharmakogramm. With a psychedelic aesthetic of moving circular forms made of random, colored spectra, the work, as it is observed, allows the spectator reach a state of hallucinatory trance. The human being and the computer thus enter into direct communication by sharing the same space of consciousness.


The project T.R.I.P (Transcendance for Real and Implicit Personalities) is an artistic and scientific fictional project led by the FOWDIB foundation (The Woodhead Foundation for Digital Consciousness), equally fictitious. The members of the foundation, consisting of four humanoid scientists, one Macintosh and one iPhone, work on the fundamental question of the extension of consciousness through drugs to personal computers and test their programs on humans.

Through this creation made of fictional experiments with the characteristics of a suspense novel, T.R.I.P echoes scientific research on consciousness, the functioning of the human brain and the possibility of extending all of these abilities to machines via artificial intelligence. The work also raises the question of our addiction to digital devices, a new modern drug, by representing our unreasoned attraction to screens through visual effects that end up taking hold of us.


Swiss artists, Monica Studer (1960-) et Christoph Van den Berg (1962-) have collaborated on projects making use of computers and the Internet since the 1990s. They design works from software programs that they develop, sweeping across very diverse themes such as architecture, myths and legends, the soul and consciousness, botany, etc. In the online project Beam Me Up – complementary to the project T.R.I.P and available in an Internet website version of the work – they invite artists and authors of different specialties to broach the concept of space, which is in the middle of evolving in the age of the “cyberworld.”



Document(s) to download

Pedagogical sheet of the work
TRIP T.R.I.P. - Monica Studer et Christoph Van Den berg
TRIP T.R.I.P - Monica Studer et Christoph Van Den berg
TRIP T.R.I.P - Monica Studer et Christoph Van Den berg
TRIP T.R.I.P - Monica Studer et Christoph Van Den berg
TRIP T.R.I.P - Monica Studer et Christoph Van Den berg

ART /

T.R.I.P

/

Monica Studer et Christoph Van Den berg

2009-2010

T.R.I.P pre?sente le programme informatique Pharmakogramm. Dans une esthe?tique psyche?de?lique de formes mouvantes circulaires faites de spectres colore?s ale?atoires, l’œuvre, a? mesure qu’elle est regarde?e, permet de mettre le spectateur dans un e?tat de transe hallucine?e. L’e?tre humain et la machine entrent ainsi en communication directe en partageant le me?me espace de conscience.


Le projet T.R.I.P (Transcendance for Real and Implicit Personalities) est un projet artistique et scientifique fictif mene? par la fondation, tout aussi fictive, FOWDIB (The Woodhead Foundation for Digital Consciousness). Les membres de la fondation, constitue?e de quatre scientifiques humanoi?des, d’un Macintosh et d’un Iphone, travaillent sur la question fondamentale de l’extension de la conscience par les drogues a? l’ordinateur personnel et testent leurs programmes sur les humains.

A? travers cette cre?ation faite d’expe?rimentations fictives aux allures de roman d’anticipation, T.R.I.P fait e?cho aux recherches scientifiques sur la conscience, le fonctionnement du cerveau humain et l’extension possible de toutes ces capacite?s aux machines, via l’intelligence artificielle. L’œuvre pose aussi la question de notre addiction aux outils nume?riques, nouvelle drogue moderne, en symbolisant par les effets visuels notre attirance de?raisonne?e vers les e?crans, qui finissent par nous happer.


Artistes suisses, Monica Studer (1960-) et Christoph Van den Berg (1962-) collaborent sur des projets utilisant les ordinateurs et Internet depuis les anne?es 1990. Ils concoivent des œuvres a? partir de programmes informatiques qu’ils de?veloppent, balayant des the?matiques tre?s diverses telles que l’architecture, les mythes et le?gendes, l’a?me et la consience, la botanique… Dans le projet en ligne Beam Me Up – comple?mentaire au projet T.R.I.P et disponible dans la version site Internet de l’œuvre – ils invitent artistes et auteurs de spe?cialite?s diffe?rentes a? traiter du concept d’espace, en pleine mutation a? l’e?re du « cybermonde ».


En savoir plus

Site web des artistes
www.studervandenberg.ch

L’œuvre en ligne :
http://kunst.ricola.ch/en/intra_art/studer_berg1.html


Document(s) à télécharger

Fiche pédagogique de l'œuvre
TRIP T.R.I.P. - Monica Studer et Christoph Van Den berg
trip1
trip2
trip3
trip4