ART /

Trahir la place – Exposing the Plaza

/

Stéphane Montavon, Gilles Lepore et Antoine Chessex

2015

Trahir la place plunges the spectator into the point where the revolution collapsed: from the excitement that hope for coming change caused, to the violence of the attack, and even the silence of the disillusionment of a people feeling betrayed once more by its army.


During the day, the plaza is taken over by reactionaries calling for their departure in order to allow vehicular traffic and business to go back to normal. The populace is led away by Baltagiyas, the cronies of the regime that was crumbling. The army allows it, as in previous days, when it witnessed attacks and murders occurring at the margins of the protests without reacting.

That night, the army takes control of the circle, evacuates destroyed tents, and keeps witnesses at a distance, barring anyone from taking photos.

As soon as it is emptied of its core and the revolution collapses, the narration dissolves. All that is left are traces of voices adrift in the environs of Tahrir Plaza and, two days later, in Alexandria.


Stéphane Montavon (1977-) is a poet and sound artist. He travels throughout the world to make field recordings of situations, whether everyday ones or crises, then adds sound archives and spatializes the whole thing in order to create quadriphonic pieces of cinema for the ear, in situ performances or texts. His works explore the discrepancy between hearing and vision, question the concept of landscape and chase after the infinitely fleeting object that is the voice. Avec Antoine Chessex (1980-) – a Swiss composer, saxophonist, performer and experimental musician – et Gilles Lepore (1972-)  – a Franco-Italian filmmaker, comic book author and illustrator –, they coproduced the Appeau project, a series of four sound and film pieces, of which Trahir la Place is a part.


Learn more

Stéphane Montavon’s website
re-implant.blogspot.fr

Oeuvre Trahir la place
Oeuvre Trahir la place
Oeuvre Trahir la place
Oeuvre Trahir la place
Oeuvre Trahir la place

ART /

Trahir la place

/

Stéphane Montavon, Gilles Lepore, Antoine Chessex

2015

Trahir la place est une installation sonore diffusant en quadriphonie des enregistrements sonores captés le 9 mars 2011 sur la place Tahrir au Caire, pendant la révolution égyptienne. À ce moment, la place / rond-point est occupée depuis le 25 janvier par les manifestants qui militent entre autres pour la démocratie et la fin de l’État policier.


Dans la journée, la place est assaillie par les réactionnaires qui réclament leur départ, afin que le trafic automobile et les affaires reprennent. La population est emmenée par des baltaguias, des hommes de main du régime qui est en train de s’effondrer. L’armée laissera faire, tout comme les jours précédents, où elle avait assisté sans réagir aux attaques et tueries survenues en marge des manifestations.

Dans la nuit, l’armée prendra le contrôle du rond-point, évacuera les tentes dévastées, et tiendra les témoins à distance, interdisant à quiconque de prendre des photos.

Dès lors qu’on la vide de son cœur et que la révolution bascule, la narration se dissout. Ne restent que quelques voix captées à la dérive dans les alentours de la place Tahrir et, deux jours plus tard, à Alexandrie.


Stéphane Montavon (1977-) et un poète et artiste sonore. Il parcourt le monde pour réaliser des enregistrements de terrains de situations aussi bien quotidiennes que de crises, puis y ré-implante des archives sonores et spatialise le tout afin de créer des pièces quadriphonique de cinéma pour l’oreille, des performances in-situ ou des textes. Ses oeuvres explorent la discrépance entre audition et vision, questionne le concept de paysage et poursuivent cet objet infiniment fuyant qu’est la voix. Avec Antoine Chessex (1980-) – compositeur, saxophoniste, performeur et musicien expérimental suisse – et Gilles Lepore (1972-)  – réalisateur, auteur de bande dessiné et illustateur franco-italien – ils coréalisent le projet l’Appeau, une série de quatre pièces sonores et filmiques dont Trahir la place fait partie.


En savoir plus

Site web de Stéphane Montavon :
re-implant.blogspot.fr

Oeuvre Trahir la place
DSC_7459_colorFul
DSC_7480_colorFul
DSC_7484_colorFul
DSC_7490_colorFul