ART /

Frequencies (a / friction)

/

Nicolas Bernier

2015

Frequencies (a / friction) is a sonant art installation. Numerous elements are scattered across a lit table: an old oscillator, connected to a speaker continuously broadcasting a sound at a fixed frequency of 476 hertz, along with a tuning fork whose frequency is 480 hertz. The tuning fork is hit at random intervals by a solenoid (piston engine) placed nearby.


A ringing emerges from this impact, underscored by the bight light emitted by the table, and it hangs in the air. The two frequencies, that of the oscillator and that of the tuning fork, seems at that moment to come together, and an acoustic beat effect arises. The listener then discovers the friction between these two oscillations, between the electronic sound and the acoustic sound.

The piece is a double homage to the American composer and sound artists Alvin Lucier who, since the 1960s, has worked intensely with oscillators, and to the German physician Hermann von Helmholtz, who used tuning forks to sound analysis and who was, from the second half of the 19th century, among the first to theorize the patterns of the beat frequencies.

Frequencies (a / friction) is a central part of a series of installations and performances by Nicolas Bernier revolving around the phenomenon of sound frequency and pure sounds emitted by tuning forks, among other things.


Nicolas Bernier (1977-) is a Canadian artist. He works in numerous areas: performances, installations, music concrète, noise improvisations and video art, all the while accumulating collaborations with dance, theater, moving images, and privileging interdisciplinarity. At the heart of this eclecticism remains one constant: the search for a balance between being cerebral and sensual, and between organic materials and digital processing. He is a member of the Perte de Signal [Loss of Signal], a center for production, research and development of digital art projects.


Learn more

Artist’s website
www.nicolasbernier.com

Video of frequencies (a/friction)


Document(s) to download

Pedagogical sheet of the work
Œuvre Frequencies (a / friction) de Nicolas Bernier
Œuvre Frequencies (a / friction) de Nicolas Bernier
Œuvre Frequencies (a / friction) de Nicolas Bernier

ART /

Frequencies (a / friction)

/

Nicolas Bernier

2015

Frequencies (a / friction) est une installation d’art sonore. Sur une table lumineuse sont dispose?s plusieurs e?le?ments : un vieil oscillateur, connecte? a? une enceinte, diffusant de fac?on continue un son sur une fre?quence fixe de 476 hertz, ainsi qu’un diapason dont la fre?quence est de 480 hertz. Le diapason est frappe? ale?atoirement par un sole?noi?de (moteur-piston) place? a? proximite?.


De cet impact, souligne? par l’e?clat e?mis par la table lumineuse, e?merge un tintement, qui reste en suspens. Les deux fre?quences, celle de l’oscillateur et celle du diapason, semblent a? ce moment se rencontrer, un effet acoustique de battement apparai?t. L’auditeur de?couvre alors la friction entre ces deux oscillations, entre le son e?lectronique et le son acoustique.

Cette pie?ce est un double hommage au compositeur et artiste sonore ame?ricain Alvin Lucier qui, depuis les anne?es 1960, a travaille? intense?ment avec les oscillateurs, et au physicien allemand Hermann von Helmholtz, qui a utilise? les diapasons pour l’analyse sonore et qui a e?te?, de?s la deuxie?me moitie? du XIXe sie?cle, parmi les premiers a? the?oriser les motifs de battement entre les fre?quences.

Frequencies (a / friction) s’inscrit au cœur d’une se?rie d’installations et de performances de Nicolas Bernier cre?e?es autour du phe?nome?ne de la fre?quence sonore et des sons purs e?mis entre autres par les diapasons.


Nicolas Bernier (1977-) est un artiste canadien. Il œuvre dans plusieurs domaines : performances, installations, musique concre?te, improvisations bruitistes et art vide?o. Tout en multipliant les collaborations avec la danse, le the?a?tre, l’image en mouvement, et privile?giant l’interdisciplinarite?. Au sein de cet e?clectisme demeure une constante : la recherche d’un e?quilibre entre ce?re?bralite? et sensualite? ainsi qu’entre matie?res organiques et traitements nume?riques. Il est membre de Perte de Signal, un centre de production, de recherches et de de?veloppement de projets en arts nume?riques.


En savoir plus

Site de l’artiste :
http://www.nicolasbernier.com/

Vidéo de frequencies ( a / friction )


Document(s) à télécharger

Fiche pédagogique de l'œuvre
Œuvre Frequencies (a / friction) de Nicolas Bernier
IMG_7719_small
IMG_7717_small
IMG_7723_small