ART /

The Transparency Grenade

/

Julian Oliver

2012

The Transparency Grenade is equipped with a miniature computer, a microphone and a powerful cordless antenna. When it is active, it intercepts the traffic circulating around it on targeted Wi-Fi networks along with ambient noise. It streams this data in an anonymous and secure fashion to a server dedicated to providing access to this information. Names of users, usernames for networked devices, IP addresses, unencrypted email fragments, webpages, images and voices are retrieved and instantly revealed in public on the screen. A red dot on the map indicates the location of the detonation.


Through this symbolic artifact, Julian Oliver critiques the lack of transparency of information circulated by governments and companies. He critiques the withholding and the control of practical information by these entities and advocates for freedom of information at a time when whistleblowers are always condemned. The grenade is presented here as the symbol of a passing to action. It is an immaterial explosion that is produced, without physical violence, publicly dispersing fragments of information.

Beyond political demands, the work also raises awareness among the public about the need to protect personal data, often intercepted and used for commercial ends or for espionage. Seeing photos, the sites visited, the fragments of emails instantly displayed before everyone’s eyes on the big screen, the visitor becomes conscious of the ease of intrusion into our private virtual space.


Julian Oliver (1984-) is an artist from New Zealand who defines himself as a “critical engineer.” His works, internationally recognized, use engineering and computer code as the central materials of creation, exploring their potentiality as much as denouncing their by-products. He also speaks at numerous workshops and conferences, particularly on software art, creative hacking, networks, object-oriented programming for artists, etc. An activist, he defends free and open source software and contributes to initiatives aiming to reinforce civil rights on the Internet.

 


Learn more

Artist’s website
http://julianoliver.com/

Work’s website
http://transparencygrenade.com/

Video from Science Gallery – Dublin (loan 2015)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_4dnMS0cvBw


Document(s) to download

Pedagogical sheet of the work
Transparency Grenade - Julian Oliver
Transparency Grenade - Julian Oliver
Transparency Grenade - Julian Oliver
Transparency Grenade - Julian Oliver

ART /

The Transparency Grenade

/

Julian Oliver

2012

The Transparency Grenade est équipée d’un ordinateur miniature, d’un micro et d’une puissante antenne sans fil. Lorsqu’elle est active elle intercepte autour d’elle le trafic circulant sur les réseaux wi-fi ciblés ainsi que les sons ambiants. Elle envoie ces données en streaming de manière anonyme et sécurisée vers un serveur dédié permettant l’accès à ces informations. Noms d’utilisateurs, identifiants de périphériques, adresses IP, fragments d’e-mails non cryptés, pages Web, images et voix sont récupérés et instantanément divulgués en vue publique sur l’écran. Un point rouge sur une carte indique l’endroit de la détonation.


Par le biais de cet artefact symbolique, Julian Oliver critique le manque de transparence de l’information diffusée par les gouvernement et par les entreprises. Il critique la rétention et le contrôle d’informations pratiqués par ces entités, et prône la liberté d’informer, à l’heure où les lanceurs d’alertes sont toujours condamnés. La grenade est ici présentée comme le symbole d’un passage à l’action. C’est une explosion immatérielle, sans violence physique, qui se produit, dispersant publiquement les bribes d’informations.

Au-delà des revendications politiques, l’œuvre sensibilise également le public à la nécessité de la protection de ses données personnelles, souvent interceptées et utilisées à des fins commerciales ou d’espionnage. Voyant ses photos, les sites consultés, des bribes d’e-mails affichés instantanément à la vue de tous sur grand écran, le visiteur prend conscience de la facilité d’intrusion dans son espace virtuel privé.


Julian Oliver (1984-) est un artiste néo-zélandais, il se définit comme « ingénieur critique ». Ses productions, internationalement reconnues, utilisent l’ingénierie et le code informatique comme matériau central de création et en explorent ses potentialités autant qu’elles en dénoncent ses dérives. Il donne également de nombreux workshops et conférences, notamment autour de l’art logiciel, du hacking créatif, du réseau, de la programmation orientée objet pour les artistes… Activiste, il défend les logiciels libres et open source et contribue aux initiatives visant à renforcer les droits civils sur Internet.

 


En savoir plus

Sur l’artiste :
http://julianoliver.com/

Site d’information sur l’œuvre :
http://transparencygrenade.com/

Vidéo réalisée par la Science Gallery de Dublin (prêt 2015) :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_4dnMS0cvBw


Document(s) à télécharger

Fiche pédagogique de l'œuvre
Transparency Grenade - Julian Oliver
images
san-francisco
tg-all_parts