ART /

Internet Topography

/

Art of Failure

2008-2011

In Internet Topography, an immersive installation of sound and light, a sound signal in infra-bass is emitted from the site of the exhibit towards a server found in Tokyo. It is then instantly sent back to its place of origin, where it gets broadcast.


In passing through different parts of the world, New York, London, Paris, etc., the signal undergoes multiple perturbations. The audio transmission errors that result from this trajectory are usually automatically smoothed out by the functions inherent to the devices, but that the artists have deactivated here. The errors are kept, analyzed, then considered a potential and fragmentary reading of the topography of the network.

The variations and alterations of this topography are made visible thanks to the digital sound continuously broadcast in space and in which we notice the hitches of the journey in unexpected bursts.

This also thanks to a projection on the floor made of white lines composed of points of light that flutter beneath our feet as the signal encounters transmission errors. The lines are desynchronized, packets get lost, duplicate, drawing the imaginary contours of this new type of immaterial landscape in multiple troughs and crests.

By putting the imperfections of the network in light, the artists put it on display with an entirely new kind of fragility, making the automatic processes almost living. In the imperfection, the surprise of the event is born; something is happening, here and now. Time and distance, usually annihilated by the speed of data transmission, are visible here.


Art of Failure is a duo of artists named Nicolas Maigret and Nicolas Montgermont. Their work is inspired by historical avant-gardes and artistic and scientific experiments. Through their different projects, they explore the ability of contemporary technologies to generate specific sonant or visual languages. In their works, the internal characteristics of media are made perceptible through their errors, malfunctions, borderline states or breaking points, from which they develop simultaneously sensory and immersive audiovisual experiments.


Learn more

Artist’s website
artoffailure.free.fr


Document(s) to download

Pedagogical sheet of the work
Internet Topography Art of Failure
Internet Topography Art of Failure
Internet Topography Art of Failure

ART /

Internet Topography

/

Art of Failure

2008-2011

Dans Internet Topography, installation sonore et lumineuse immersive, un signal sonore en infrabasse est e?mis depuis l’espace d’exposition vers un serveur situe? a? Tokyo. Il est ensuite instantane?ment renvoye? vers son lieu d’e?mission, ou? il est diffuse?.


En transitant par diffe?rents points du globe, New York, Londres, Paris…, le signal subit de multiples perturbations. Les erreurs de transmission audio qui re?sultent de ce trajet sont d’ordinaire automatiquement lisse?es par des fonctions inhe?rentes aux dispositifs, mais qui sont ici de?sactive?es par les artistes. Les erreurs sont conserve?es, analyse?es, puis conside?re?es comme un releve? potentiel et parcellaire de la topographie du re?seau.

Les variations et les alte?rations de cette topographie sont rendues perceptibles gra?ce au son nume?rique diffuse? en continu dans l’espace et dans lequel on perc?oit, par des e?clats impre?vus, les accrocs du voyage.

Gra?ce e?galement a? une projection au sol, faite de lignes blanches compose?es de points lumineux qui ondulent sous nos pieds a? mesure que le signal rencontre des erreurs de transmission. Les lignes se de?synchronisent, des paquets se perdent, se dupliquent dessinant en de multiples creux et bosses les reliefs imaginaires de ce nouveau type de paysage immate?riel.

En mettant en lumie?re les imperfections du re?seau, les artistes le donnent a? voir dans une toute nouvelle fragilite?, rendant presque vivants les processus automatise?s. Dans l’imperfection nai?t la surprise de l’e?ve?nement, il se passe quelque chose, ici et maintenant. Le temps et la distance habituellement annihile?s par la vitesse de transmission des donne?es sont ici perceptibles.


Art of Failure est un duo d’artistes compose? de Nicolas Maigret et Nicolas Montgermont. Leur travail se nourrit des avant-gardes historiques et d’expe?rimentations artistiques et scientifiques. A? travers leurs diffe?rents projets, ils explorent la capacite? des technologies contemporaines a? ge?ne?rer des langages sonores ou visuels spe?cifiques. Dans leurs re?alisations, les caracte?ristiques internes des me?dias sont rendues perceptibles a? travers leurs erreurs, dysfonctionnements, e?tats limites ou seuils de rupture, dont ils de?veloppent des expe?riences audiovisuelles a? la fois sensorielles et immersives.


En savoir plus

Sur le collectif :
artoffailure.free.fr


Document(s) à télécharger

Fiche pédagogique de l'œuvre
Internet Topography Art of Failure
Topology2
topology3