ART /

Untitled (Street legal)

/

JODI

2004

Untitled (Street Legal) takes the form of a multi-projection installation on four screens. The projected films were created during gaming sessions on the racecar video game “Street Legal.” The source code was hacked, and the cars evolve in the environment by turning on themselves in an uninterrupted fashion.


Traffic jams are created, collisions, the car flies off, etc. Even the camera no longer seems to know which angle to use in order to capture the situation. The spectator, in the position of an observer, cannot interact with the work; we can only speculate about the trajectory that the car will take, which only the other elements programmed inside the game can come and perturb by colliding with it.

All these elements—the car that constantly whirls about, the spiral tracks left by the rubber on the pavement and the repetitive sounds of the screeching of tires—give the game a whole other dimension, poetic, hypnotic. The artists approach the code as a material for creation, a sort of active paint allowing them to generate works where all the behaviors internal to the materials work together, confront each other in order to evolve together.

The spectator is freed of our role as a player enclosed in the logic of winner/loser, inherent to video games. He discovers new possibilities for experimentation with the medium. JODI thus critiques the attitude of the typical user evolving in a closed system without exploring either its limits or the possibilities that going beyond them would open up—a critique that the collective applies more generally to political and social issues brought about by a consumer society and by advertising and institutional communications.


Established in 1995 and set up in the Netherlands, JODI is a collective of two artists, the Dutch Joan Heemskerk (1968-) and the Belgian Dirk Paesmans (1965-). Pioneers of online art, they explore the habits and behaviors of humans when confronted with a computer, in particular when it malfunctions because of its handling or because the computer code was hacked. The works, making use of the aesthetic of the computer crash, offer a visual and structural critique of digital culture and evoke the absence of protection from technology.


Learn more

Artist’s website
wwwwwwwww.jodi.org


Document(s) to download

Pedagogical sheet of the work
Untitled (Street legal) - JODI
Untitled (Street legal) - JODI
Untitled (Street legal) - JODI
Untitled (Street legal) - JODI
Untitled (Street legal) - JODI

ART /

Untitled (Street legal)

/

JODI

2004

Untitled (Street legal) se pre?sente comme une installation en multi-projection sur quatre e?crans. Les films projete?s ont e?te? ge?ne?re?s lors de se?ances de jeux sur le jeu vide?o de courses de bolides « Street Legal ». Le code source a e?te? hacke?, les voitures e?voluent dans l’environnement en tournant sur elles- me?mes de fac?on ininterrompue.


Des embouteillages se cre?ent, des collisions, la voiture s’envole… Me?me la came?ra ne semble plus savoir sous quel angle aborder la situation. Le spectateur, en position d’observateur, ne peut pas interagir avec l’œuvre, il peut uniquement spe?culer sur la trajectoire que prendra la voiture, que seuls les autres e?le?ments programme?s a? l’inte?rieur du jeu peuvent perturber en entrant en collision avec elle.

Tous ces e?le?ments : la voiture qui tourbillonne sans cesse, les traces en spirales laisse?es par la gomme sur le bitume et les sons re?pe?titifs du crissement des pneus donnent au jeu une tout autre dimension, poe?tique, hypnotique. Le code est aborde? par les artistes comme un mate?riau de cre?ation, sorte de peinture active permettant de ge?ne?rer des œuvres ou? tous les comportements internes aux mate?riaux se conjuguent, se confrontent pour e?voluer ensemble.

Le spectateur est affranchi de son ro?le de joueur, enferme? dans la logique gagnant / perdant inhe?rente aux jeux vide?o. Il de?couvre de nouvelles possibilite?s d’expe?rimentations du support. JODI critique ainsi l’attitude de l’utilisateur type e?voluant dans un syste?me ferme? sans en explorer les limites, ni les potentialite?s qu’ouvrirait le fait de les de?passer. Critique que le collectif applique plus largement aux proble?matiques politiques et sociales induites par la socie?te? de consommation et par la communication publicitaire ou institutionnelle.


Fonde? en 1995 et installe? aux Pays-Bas, JODI est un collectif d’artistes compose? de la Ne?erlandaise Joan Heemskerk (1968-) et du Belge Dirk Paesmans (1965-). Pionniers de l’art en ligne, ils explorent les usages et les comportements de l’humain face a? la machine, notamment lorsqu’elle dysfonctionne, gra?ce a? la manipulation ou au de?tournement du code informatique. Leurs œuvres, exploitant l’esthe?tique du crash informatique, proposent une critique visuelle et structurelle de la culture nume?rique et e?voquent l’absence de de?fense devant la technologie.


En savoir plus

Site web des artistes
wwwwwwwww.jodi.org


Document(s) à télécharger

Fiche pédagogique de l'œuvre
Untitled (Street legal) - JODI
burnout1x9
burnout4
burnoutbou70
burnoutnimc8