ART /

H.U.M.A.N.W.O.R.L.D

/

Guillaume Paris

2007

The multidisciplinary and multimedia project H.U.M.A.N.W.O.R.L.D (Holistic and Utopian Multinational Alliance for New World Order and Research in Living and Dying) was initiated at the beginning of the 1990s. It develops a reflection on multiculturalism and globalization through the representation of the Other. The work H.U.M.A.N.W.O.R.L.D is a website available online and adapted from the book “A Beginner’s Guide to H.U.M.A.N.W.O.R.L.D: expliqué aux enfants” [“A Beginner’s Guide to H.U.M.A.N.W.O.R.L.D: explained to children”]. It takes on all the concepts and productions from the project in a visual and interactive form.


The H.U.M.A.N.W.O.R.L.D project depends on an almost museological collection of “product-portraits” collected throughout the world. The packaging of these products has the particularity of bearing one or more human faces chosen to represent them, raising the question of the place and status of individual identity at the heart of the globally established order, namely through stereotypes.

As a website H.U.M.A.N.W.O.R.L.D figures a city map where the different neighborhoods allow access to seven chapters containing numerous levels of evolution, each linked with the idea of community. Each chapter leads to an interactive gallery where a slide show is connected with a construction in a place with a well-defined role: a billboard for the chapter “The Gallery of Portraits,” where portraits of packaging come to life and take on human form to become avatars in a “super-community,” in opposition to the chapter on “sub-community,” represented by a rotating statue among apartment buildings and made of the real people who posed for “product-portraits”; a cemetery for the chapter “Becoming” shows portraits made by experts, simulating the aging of the models.

Through this project, Guillaume Paris gives life, voice and future back to the fixed portraits on packaging and thus explores the philosophical notion of reification and de-reification.


Guillaume Paris (1966-) is a French plastic artist. He studied engineering, plastic arts and anthropology and today teaches in many art schools throughout the world. Thanks to his numerous travels and his childhood, spent between many continents, the artist developed a certain sensitivity to different cultures. His work revolves around the way they are often represented from the perspective of their exploitation, examining human values and their manipulations in a critical manner.


Learn more

Artsit’s website
http://www.guillaumeparis.com/

H.U.M.A.N.W.O.R.L.D online
http://www.guillaumeparis.com/humanworld/indexfr.html


Document(s) to download

Pedagogical sheet of the work
Human world Guillaume Paris
Human world Guillaume Paris
Human world Guillaume Paris
Human world Guillaume Paris
Human world Guillaume Paris

ART /

H.U.M.A.N.W.O.R.L.D

/

Guillaume Paris

2007

Le projet pluridisciplinaire et multime?dia H.U.M.A.N.W.O.R.L.D (Holistic and Utopian Multinational Alliance for New World Order and Research in Living and Dying) a e?te? initie? au de?but des anne?es 1990. Il de?veloppe une reflexion autour du multiculturalisme et de la mondialisation a? travers la repre?sentation de l’Autre. L’œuvre H.U.M.A.N.W.O.R.L.D est un site Internet disponible en ligne adapte? du livre « A beginner’s guide to H.U.M.A.N.W.O.R.L.D explique? aux enfants ». Elle reprend l’ensemble des concepts et re?alisations du projet sous une forme visuelle et interactive.


Le projet  H.U.M.A.N.W.O.R.L.D s’appuie sur une collection presque muse?ographique de « produits- portraits », re?colte?s de par le monde. Ces produits ont la particularite? d’arborer sur leur emballage un ou plusieurs visages de personnes choisies pour les repre?senter, posant de fait la question de la place et du statut de l’identite? individuelle au sein de cet ordre e?tabli global, notamment par les ste?re?otypes.

L’œuvre H.U.M.A.N.W.O.R.L.D se présente en ligne sous la forme d’un plan d’une ville ou? les diffe?rents quartiers permettent d’acce?der aux sept chapitres comprenant plusieurs niveaux d’e?volution ayant trait a? l’ide?e de communaute?. Chaque chapitre s’ouvre sur une galerie interactive ou? un diaporama est associe? a? une construction, a? un lieu au ro?le bien identifie? : un panneau publicitaire pour le chapitre « La galerie de portraits » ou? les portraits des emballages s’animent, s’incarnent pour devenir des avatars formant la « sur-communaute? », en opposition au chapitre de la « sous-communaute? » repre?sente?e par une statue tournant sur elle-me?me au milieu d’immeubles et compose?e des personnes re?elles ayant pose? pour les « produits-portraits » ; un cimetie?re pour le chapitre « Devenir » donnant a? voir des portraits re?alise?s par des experts, simulant le vieillissement des mode?les.

A? travers ce projet, Guillaume Paris redonne vie, voix et avenir aux portraits fige?s sur les emballages et explore ainsi la notion philosophique de la re?ification / de?-re?ification.


Guillaume Paris (1966-) est un plasticien franc?ais. Il a e?tudie? l’inge?nierie, les arts plastiques et l’anthropologie et enseigne aujourd’hui dans plusieurs e?coles d’art a? travers le monde. Gra?ce a? ses nombreux voyages et a? son enfance passe?e entre plusieurs continents, l’artiste a de?veloppe? une sensibilite? aux diffe?rentes cultures. Son travail se de?ploie autour de la fac?on dont celles-ci sont souvent repre?sente?es sous l’angle de leur exploitation, examinant de manie?re critique les valeurs humaines et leurs manipulations.


En savoir plus

Sur l’artiste :
http://www.guillaumeparis.com/

L’œuvre en ligne :
http://www.guillaumeparis.com/humanworld/indexfr.html


Document(s) à télécharger

Fiche pédagogique de l'œuvre
Human world Guillaume Paris
hw1
hw5
hw8
hw9