ART /

Bzzz !

/

Cécile Babiole

2012

Bzzz ! is a sonant sculpture that attempts to make the sound of electricity heard and give it a space.


The sculpture has a radiating form, organized around a sound-wave generator placed on a stand in the middle of the room, surround by a group of 24 loudspeakers affixed to microphone stands. The generator is connected to the loudspeakers with a bundle of audio cables that go across the space from bottom to top and form a sort of tree, staging the path of the electric currents. The electrical and electronic elements are entirely visible here, forming the very essence of the aesthetic of the piece.

The signal generator is made in a deliberately rudimentary way: it is composed of some basic electronic components that allow the manual modulation of the electric current and thus the generation of slightly amplified sound frequencies. Six simultaneous sounds are thus created and distributed throughout the space.

The device invites the spectator to walk inside of the installation, from one loudspeaker to another, from one sound to another, and to test their frictions and combinations. Since the electric tension is not constant, the sounds played on repeat form a unique composition each time.

By reinventing a generator of low-tech and obsolete wave forms at a time when everything is digital, this sculpture takes part in a reflection on the history of technology, and attempts, in its own way, to pay homage to analogue sound without sampling or processing, the sound of electricity.


Cécile Babiole (1956-) is an artist who has been working since the 1980s in the field of music, first, then in electronic and digital arts. She connects visual and sonant arts in her creations through installations and performances that question the media with originality and irony. She questions technology and attempts, in a roundabout way, to transpose its standard uses into the field of creation. Cécile Babiole appropriates a mechanical register and mass culture to produce a confrontation between creativity and determinism, past and present uses, obsolete and contemporary techniques.


Learn more

Artist’s website
babiole.net

Cécile Babiole oeuvre bzzz le son de l'électricité

ART /

Bzzz !

/

Cécile Babiole

2012

Bzzz ! est une sculpture sonore qui tente de faire entendre et mettre en espace le son de l’électricité.


La sculpture a une forme rayonnante, organisée autour d’un générateur d’ondes sonores disposé sur un socle situé au centre de la pièce, entouré par un ensemble de 24 haut-parleurs fixés sur des pieds de micro. Le générateur est relié aux haut-parleurs par un faisceau de câbles audio qui traversent l’espace de bas en haut et forment une sorte d’arbre, mettant en scène le parcours des impulsions électriques. Les éléments électriques et électroniques sont ici entièrement visibles, formant l’essence même de l’esthétique de la pièce.

Le générateur de fréquences est réalisé d’une manière délibérément rudimentaire ; il est composé de quelques composants électroniques basiques qui permettent de moduler manuellement le courant électrique et ainsi de générer des vibrations sonores légèrement amplifiées. Six sons simultanés sont ainsi créés et répartis dans l’espace.

Le dispositif invite le spectateur à déambuler à l’intérieur de l’installation, d’un haut-parleur à l’autre, d’un son à l’autre, et à expérimenter leurs frottements et combinaisons. La tension électrique n’étant pas constante, les sons diffusés en boucle forment à chaque fois une composition unique.

En réinventant un générateur de formes d’ondes low-tech et obsolète à l’heure du tout-numérique, cette sculpture s’inscrit dans une réflexion sur l’histoire des techniques, et tente d’exprimer à sa manière un hommage au son analogique sans échantillonnage ni traitement, le son de l’électricité.


Cécile Babiole (1956-) est une artiste active dès les années 1980, dans le champ musical d’abord, puis dans les arts électroniques et numériques. Elle associe dans ses créations arts visuels et sonores à travers des installations et des performances qui interrogent avec singularité et ironie les médias. Elle questionne les technologies et tente d’en transposer de façon détournée les usages normés dans le champ de la création. Cécile Babiole s’approprie un registre machinique et une culture de masse pour en tirer une confrontation entre créativité et déterminisme, usages passés et présents, techniques obsolètes et contemporaines.


En savoir plus

Le site de l’artiste :
babiole.net

Cécile Babiole oeuvre bzzz le son de l'électricité