ART /

All Over

/

Samuel Bianchini

2009

All Over is an online work intended for the Internet. A series of images made only of black typographical characters against a white background, in the style of “ASCII Art”, are shown one by one on the screen. Those images evolve before the eyes of the spectator, as the characters that make them – digits, numbers, monetary signs – are replaced by others. These visible elements are data gathered in real time, acting on the work in a dynamic way. These data come in real time from worldwide changes in the market.


in the same way that the commercial activity of a company or of a country depends on the state of its finances. The photographs are disturbed, symbolically disturbing what they represent as well.

The display of thee images without a legend and without sound is ambivalent. They put figures on display who raise their arms, seem to scream, alone or in groups, who can evoke both traders selling on the stock market floor, or protesters chanting slogans in the street. The work invokes them one by one, without letting us identify them, thus putting the actors of the system and those who suffer it on the same plane, in a metaphor according to which they are all its victims given their dependence on its fluctuations.

With All Over, Samuel Bianchini puts physical and symbolic operations into action, in public and in real time. The spectator is encouraged to contemplate the work, to reflect as well as to act.

All Over, an online instrument, is a project produced by the Jeu de Paume (Paris) for its “Virtual Space” exhibit, made in partnership with Corbis France.


Samuel Bianchini (1971-) is a French artist and teacher-researcher. He directs the research group on interactive and performative devices, Reflective Interaction, at the Ecole Nationale Supérieur des Arts Décoratifs laboratory (Paris). His works, while maintaining the principle of an “operational aesthetic,” question the repercussions of technological devices, in particular on our modes of representation, our new types of aesthetic experiences and sociopolitical organizations.


Learn more

BLOG de la Médiathèque expérimentale : La bibliothèque in situ n°1 – Entretien réalisé le 27 janvier 2015
http://mediatheque.communaute-emg.net/?p=101

Site de l’artiste :
dispotheque.org

L’oeuvre en ligne :
http://allover.dispotheque.org/


Document(s) to download

Pedagogical sheet of the work
All over Samuel Bianchini
All over Samuel Bianchini
All over Samuel Bianchini
All over Samuel Bianchini

ART /

All Over

/

Samuel Bianchini

2009

All Over est une œuvre en ligne, conc?ue pour Internet. Une série d’images réalisées uniquement avec des caractères typographiques, à la manière de l’“Ascii Art” – méthode d’affichage utilisée par les premiers informaticiens – défilent à l’écran. Les chiffres et les lettres qui composent ces images sont changeants, dynamiques : ils proviennent en temps réel des flux boursiers mondiaux.


Au me?me titre que l’activite? d’une socie?te? ou d’un pays de?pend de l’e?tat de ses finances. Les photographies sont perturbe?es, perturbant aussi symboliquement ce qu’elles figurent.

L’affichage de ces images sans le?gende et sans son est ambivalent. Elles mettent en sce?ne des personnages qui le?vent les bras, semblent crier, seuls ou a? plusieurs, et peuvent e?voquer a? la fois des traders pratiquant les cotations a? la crie?e, ou des manifestants scandant des slogans dans la rue. L’œuvre les invoque tour a? tour sans que l’on puisse les identifier, mettant ainsi au me?me plan les acteurs du syste?me et ceux qui le subissent, dans une me?taphore ou? ils en sont tous les victimes, de par leur de?pendance a? ses fluctuations.

Avec All Over, Samuel Bianchini met en œuvre des ope?rations physiques et symboliques, en public et en temps re?el. Le spectateur est incite? a? contempler l’œuvre, a? re?fle?chir autant qu’a? agir.

All Over, dispositif sur Internet, est un projet produit par le Jeu de Paume (Paris) pour son « Espace virtuel » en partenariat avec Corbis France.


Samuel Bianchini (1971-) est un artiste et enseignant-chercheur franc?ais. Il dirige le groupe de recherche Reflective Interaction, au laboratoire de l’E?cole nationale supe?rieure des arts de?coratifs (Paris), sur les dispositifs interactifs et performatifs. Ses œuvres, soutenant le principe d’une « esthe?tique ope?rationnelle », interrogent en particulier l’incidence des dispositifs technologiques sur nos modes de repre?sentation, nos nouvelles formes d’expe?riences esthe?tiques et nos organisations sociopolitiques.


En savoir plus

BLOG de la Médiathèque expérimentale : La bibliothèque in situ n°1 – Entretien réalisé le 27 janvier 2015
http://mediatheque.communaute-emg.net/?p=101

Site de l’artiste :
http://dispotheque.org/

L’oeuvre en ligne :
http://allover.dispotheque.org/


Document(s) à télécharger

Fiche pédagogique de l'œuvre
All over Samuel Bianchini
allover_bip14_1120560
AllOver_Gallery_01
AllOver1L